I love coffee.  I love coffeeshops even more.  If it were possible to place a bet in Vegas on the percentage of bloggers who love coffee and coffeeshops, I reckon it would be 93.8%.

Granted, the free wi-fi is nice, but it’s more than that.  I like the social aspect of it, even though most of the time I go alone and interact only with the people who work there.  That is, if conversation alone can be counted as interaction.  Going alone to a fast food restaurant is not the same as going alone to a great coffeeshop.  The fast food restaurant tends to be functional.  That doesn’t mean that it’s not an enjoyable experience, especially for kids, but people are usually there to get in, eat, and be on their way.  At a great coffeeshop, you might not be directly involved in the conversations of the people around you, but if the vibe is right, you don’t feel excluded, either.

I also think people quickly get a sense of whether a coffeeshop makes the cut.  It might be the look of the building, the layout inside, the quality of the coffee, or the attitudes of the staff and customers.  The list goes on, nothing revelatory there.  Whatever the reasons, it’s hard to walk into a cool coffeeshop without feeling like the next great novel is within reach.

I’m in Phoenix, Arizona for an extended visit.  I’ve discovered a favorite coffeeshop to add to my list.  It’s called Copper Star Coffee, and it’s in the historic neighborhood of Woodlea, which I think is part of the larger area called Melrose, the core of which seems to be 7th Avenue between Indian School and Camelback.  Copper Star Coffee is in a very cool repurposed old gas station.  The window for drive through coffee is beneath the overhang that reaches out past the pumps.  I think the pumps are old school, too, the kind that have the analog flipping or scrolling gallons/dollars readouts.

IMG_4302

The inside is laid out well.  The interior is definitely eclectic.  I suspect that a lot of the memorabilia on the walls reflects the owner’s interests or background.  There are lunar module photos, a Vietnam-era helmet, skis, etc.  I think it all comes together nicely.

It’s usually not a problem to find a seat.  The staff are all very friendly, and they quickly remember your face and drink of choice.  The coffee is good (I’m not a connoisseur), and I’ve had their egg sandwich a few times.  Their pastries and scones seem popular.  I haven’t got a sweet tooth, so I would be a bad judge there.  Some of them look too big or too sweet.  My only minor complaint is that there are nights when the live music is too loud for the space.  That’s rare, though.

IMG_4307

If you make it to Phoenix and are looking for coffee, give it a shot.

P.S.  If you know a great place for coffee, go ahead and tag it!  GPFC, #gpfc, whatever 🙂

 

 

